Monthly Music Review October 2017

October
 
 

Check out the top 15 tracks we thought stood out the most in October 2017 below along with the accompanying videos

 
Screen Shot 2017-11-02 at 21.00.03
 

Number 15 – Bygg V ft Highflyers – Sikhouna Bhangra 

 

Sikhouna Bhangra was the latest track by Bygg V featuring Highflyers. The track was written by Bhinder Khanpuri. Highflyers deliver once again on the beat; I like the various musical pieces throughout the track and in the background. Check out the audio promo below now:

 

 

Click the link below to purchase Sikhouna Bhangra

 
itunes
 
 
 
Screen Shot 2017-11-02 at 21.10.00
 

Number 14 – Param Singh – Nain 

 

Param Singh released his latest track titled Nain produced by Pratik Studio. The track as released by Moviebox Records. I like Param’s vocals; he has a soothing tone and this track compliments his vocal style perfectly. It’s a really good track, well produced and has emotional lyrics. Check out the video below now:

 

 
 

Click the link below to purchase Nain

 
itunes
 
 
 
Screen Shot 2017-11-01 at 21.02.42
 

Number 13 – Mehsopuria – Ranjha Jatt Jogi 

 

Mehsopuria released his second track of the year featuring Tom Lowry titled Ranjha Jatt Jogi. I’m sure we are all familiar with the track Ranjha Jogi which Mehsopuria released in 2004. This is a nice throwback to that track in certain ways. The track has more of a rock feel to it with the dominant guitars and production. The production on this track is really good, unique and different. Check out the video below:

 

 

Click the link below to purchase Ranjha Jatt Jogi

 
itunes
 
 
 
Screen Shot 2017-11-02 at 21.14.42
 

Number 12 – The PropheC ft Arjun – Alone 

 

Alone is the new track by The PropheC featuring Arjun. The PropheC delivers once again with this track; simple yet effective. The production compliments the vocals nicely and the lyrics are deep and straight to the point.

 

Click the link below to purchase Alone

 
itunes
 
 
 
Screen Shot 2017-11-02 at 21.21.11
 

 

Number 11 – Dev Dhillon ft Aman Hayer – Nachne Da Cha 

 

Dev Dhillon returned to the music scene alongside Aman Hayer with Nachne Da Cha. The track was released via Aman Hayer Productions. The track has that signature Aman Hayer sound and is an all round energetic track meant for the dance floors. It is good to hear Dev Dhillon’s vocals again alongside the unmistakable sound of Aman Hayer. Check out the video below now:

 

 

Click the link below to purchase Nachne Da Cha

 
itunes
 
 
 
akhiyan_di_maar
 
 

Number 10 – Dark MC ft Babbu – Akhiyan Di Maar 

 

Akhiyan Di Maar was the latest offering by The Dark MC featuring Babbu, who sung and wrote the track. The track as released via ANON Records. I’m really digging this track; it’s very catchy and it’s got a nice composition. I like the hard-hitting production along with the sweet flutes in the background. Overall it is a good track. Check out the audio video below now:

 

 
 

Click the link below to purchase Akhiyan Di Maar

 
itunes
 
 
 
Screen Shot 2017-10-21 at 01.06.29
 

Number 9 – GS Chaggar – Play Dance Listen (EP) 

 

GS Chaggar released his latest musical offering in the form of Play Dance Listen, an EP featuring Bill Singh, Ashok Gill and Pammi Saini. The 4 track EP had a good mix of styles and music. It starts off with a modern twist on the classic Surjit Bindrakhia track Yaar Bolda. It was sung by the talented Bill Singh. It is a great track, production is on point and Bill Singh delivers a great vocal performance. The next track is my favourite from the EP – UK Baliye sung by Pammi Saini. It is a very catchy track, great lyrics and the production perfectly compliments Pammi’s vocals. Nachna Nu by Ashok Gill is up next. This is a nice track and shows the diversity in GS Chaggars production. Things are switched up for the last track, Hik Vich Jaan sung by Bill Singh. I liked the algozey pieces throughout the track. Overall this is a great EP, with some really well produced and diverse tracks. Check out the EP below now:

 

 
 
 
Screen Shot 2017-11-02 at 20.35.26
 

Number 8 – Raashi Sood – Bewafa Hunde Ne 

 

Bewafa Hunde Ne was the new track by Raashi Sood produced by Harley Josan. The lyrics were written by Navi Ferozpurwala. Raashi Sood delivers another stellar vocal performance. Bewafa Hunde Ne is a fantastic track, great production and hard-hitting and emotional lyrics. Check out the video below:

 

 
 

Click the link below to purchase Bewafa Hunde Ne

 
itunes
 
 
 
Screen Shot 2017-11-02 at 20.40.56
 

Number 7 – Falak ft PBN – Haye Rabba 

 

Falak teamed up with the hit maker PBN for his latest track – Haye Rabba. The track was written by Mavi Singh and was released via Speed Records. This is a catchy up-tempo track, with catchy and easy to understand lyrics. PBN delivers a great backdrop with the production. Check out the video below:

 

 
 

Click the link below to purchase Haye Rabba

 
itunes
 
 
 
Screen Shot 2017-11-02 at 20.55.43
 
 

Number 6 – Nimrat Khaira – Suit

 

Suit was the new track by Nimrat Khaira produced by Preet Hundal. Lyrics were written by Arjan Dhillon. Nimrat Khaira has been on a roll as of late, releasing back to back hit tracks and this is another one to add to the list. Suit is a great track; I like the production by Preet Hundal. Check out the video below now which also features singer Mankirt Aulakh:

 

 
 

Click the link below to purchase Suit

 
itunes
 
 
 
Screen Shot 2017-11-02 at 21.41.41
 

Number 5 – Bups Saggu ft The Brown Girl – Laung Gwacha 

 

Bups Saggu collaborated with The Brown Girl and Milland Gaba to release Laung Gwacha. This has to be one of my favourite releases of this year. I loved the production on this; Bups switched it up with this track. The lyrics are really catchy and easy to understand. Overall this is a great release. Check out the video below now:

 

 

Click the link below to purchase Laung Gwacha

 
itunes
 
 
 
Screen Shot 2017-11-01 at 20.43.58
 
 

Number 4 – Jaz Dhami & Raftaar ft Deep Kalsi – Jean Teri

 

Jean Teri was the new track by Jaz Dhami featuring Raftaar produced by Deep Kalsi, who also wrote the track. This is a great track and one that fits Jaz Dhami’s style perfectly. It is a really catchy number, and everything just fits in well with this. Raftaar’s rap is on point as always and gives the track that extra kick. The boli towards the end by Deep Kalsi is my favourite bit. Check out the video below now:

 

 

Click the link below to purchase Jean Teri

 
itunes
 
 
 
Screen Shot 2017-11-01 at 21.06.52
 

Number 3 – Zora Randhawa ft Dr Zeus – Dangey

 

Zora Randhawa and Dr Zeus teamed up once again to release Dangey. After a short wait, the duo came back with the amazing track Dangey. It is always great to hear Zora’s vocals and the production by Zeus was phenomenal. His sound is frequently copied, however he manages to switch it up every time. The lyrics for the track were written by Kamal Kharoud. I liked the switch up towards the end of the track. Check it out below now:

 

 
 

Click the link below to purchase Kurti Mal Mal Di

 
itunes
 
 

Screen Shot 2017-11-01 at 20.39.36
 
 

Number 2 – Jaz Dhami & Kanika Kapoor ft Tigerstyle – Kurti Mal Mal Di

 

There is always a risk when releasing cover songs, especially ones that are so well known. Kurti Mal Mal Di was originally sung by Mohammad Sadiq and Ranjit Kaur with the lyrics written by Didar Sandhu. This particular cover by Jaz Dhami features the vocals of Kanika Kapoor and rap by Shortie. The music duties were given to Tigerstyle, who bring their unique flavour to the mix. I really like this mix, both vocals sound great and compliment each other nicely. Check out the funky video below:

 

 

Click the link below to purchase Kurti Mal Mal Di

 
itunes
 
 
 
Screen Shot 2017-11-02 at 21.32.06
 
 

Number 1 – Diljit Dosanjh ft Tru Skool – El Sueño

 

El Sueño was the new track by Diljit Dosanjh produced by UK’s Tru Skool. Lyrics were written by Lally Mundi. El Sueño broke records by debuting in the mainstream charts as well as reaching Number 1 in various iTunes chart listings. The video to this was amazing; and in my opinion has set the standard that all videos need to be at. The track is influenced by Spanish music as you can tell by the name and musical pieces. Tru Skool blended the various styles and influences and the way he delivered the track was remarkable . The musical pieces and percussion mixed in perfectly. A great track and could potentially be a contender for track of the year. Check out the video below now:

 

 

Click the link below to purchase El Sueño

 
itunes
 
 

And thats it, did you agree with us? Let us know in the comments below and be sure to share your favourite picks as well!

Related Posts

Monthly Music Review – April 2017   Check out the top 10 tracks we thought stood out the most in April 2017 below along with the accompanying videos     &nbs...
Albums We Want To See In 2016 We hope 2016 is another big year with a release of lots of singles and albums. However we also hope that we get to see the release of albums from a fe...
Original Punjabi Songs – Part I   Its common within the music industry for artists to remake certain tracks by popular artists. Many add their own unique flavour to the mix a...
Ones To Watch in 2016 – Part 2 We are back with the second edition of artists we believe will make a great impact in the music industry in 2016. This list is compiled of producers a...

Leave a Reply